Last Falling Leaves

I still am not sure about this feeling.

In fact, I don’t even know how to start this post. It’s just that the thought of me, moving to college is still quite unclear. I have been very excited ever since, however, questions like “Am I prepared for college?” or “Am I really ready?” had been bugging me for a while. I think these might be some of the reasons:

1) Start of Something New

Studying in college requires great courage and confidence in yourself because as they describe it, it’s HARD. This coming school year it will be a great challenge for me, why? let’s just say that I live about ten hours away from this university where I will be studying (that would mean hundreds of kilometers) and out of the thousands of incoming freshmen, I only know two of them, and we are not even in the same degree program nor the same college.

I know that I have this problem about being such an “unsociable” person, well I am not saying that I am a bad one but it’s just that I am typically shy and I just don’t know how to put on a good conversation with a friend, let alone a stranger. Yeah, it feels like I will be going into a community where I need to be with other people, because I need them to survive, we need each other to survive.

It really takes a lot of adjustments and I just really hope that I will be able to adapt to everything.

2) Workloads

College workloads are just so far away from high school’s. So this means, if I have already acquired my super effort in high school, I’ll be needing that *insert an adjective in the superlative to the positive infinity degree here* effort just to finish college well. If I only got less than eight hours of sleep in high school, I think I will be missing sleep in college.

3) Independence

Well, this is something that we, youth, have been rooting for ever since. Others might think that it’s good to be independent, but I reckon there is still the downside of it. For me, college is the best reflection of a society where you will be living as a citizen not as a student anymore.Ā  So those things that it will teach will be very useful in the future.

Independence means you have to budget your allowance well. Like how college requires a lot of help, it also requires a lot of money. So, if I have only a limited amount of resources, I should be able to use them well.

Independence means you should know how to work alone. Unlike in high school, where you can still seek help from your teachers or your classmates or your siblings, college demands you to be productive in working alone.

Dear reader

There are more things that college wants from us. And I think enumerating them all would take time. But, if you are like me, I think we need to see college from a different view. I consider myself as a tree and all those falling leaves were my past attitudes and paradigms about the world, and I am removing them now to grow better , a better tree, a better me. Perhaps these fears will be fears by now, but I hope that as time will go on, they will be gradually erased.

18 thoughts on “Last Falling Leaves

  1. Don’t forget what you said in your blurb to the left in the about…You have courage, strength and faith! This will get you through. College has many distractions. Beware! Enjoy yourself and all will be well!

    Thank you for the follow! ^..^

  2. So glad to find each other’s blogs! I enjoyed this post, especially when you wrote: “I consider myself as a tree and all those falling leaves were my past attitudes and paradigms about the world, and I am removing them now to grow better , a better tree, a better me.” That is a beautiful metaphor to describe to process of improving ourselves…well done! You will do great in college, I’m sure!

  3. Thanks for following WordBowlbyMsCharlieS and thanks for introducing me to your unique viewpoint! I look forward to reading more as you embark on your collegiate journey!

  4. Hi! I see that you’re an incoming college freshie sa UPD (tama ba?) and I just wanted to wish you luck! Freshman year could be super fun if you want it to be, and I hope you’d get lots of opportunities to explore yourself, your college, and your course. I’m not from UPD (I’m from UP Manila), but I go to UPD often, and it is such a nice campus. I hope you get the best out of it! You can tour the campus, Katips, and other near places during your free time, and I swear you won’t be disappointed. When you get the hang of the place, tour mo rin ako! HAHAHA ang kapal lang. Seriously, I hope you get to have fun in your college life, especially ‘pag freshie ka pa lang. Hindi ka pa kasi masyadong baon sa requirements. Enjoy it while it lasts! šŸ™‚

  5. It’s an emotional change as much as anything, but you sound prepared for it! And it really will be an awesome time you will remember with fondness šŸ™‚ Good luck with it!

  6. Wishing you wonderfully expansive experiences at college. How exciting! I am sending my oldest to her freshman year this fall, actually, just 2 weeks now, but she is much closer to home than you will be. Your post is such a great snapshot into a time of transition!

  7. Freshman in college at only 16? wow! congratulations on that!! I wish you continued success. I hope you can find a balance between studies and all the other things you can learn in college. Yes, it’s hard, but hopefully worth it in the end.
    I wanted to thank you for following my blog. I hope you’ll still have time for blogging once you really get started in school! šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment